Delete a stream

This feature is only available to organization administrators.

Deleting a stream will immediately unsubscribe all users from the stream, remove the stream from search and other typeaheads, and remove the stream's messages from All messages.

Deleting a stream does not delete a stream's messages. Users will still be able to find any given message by searching for it. However, links to messages and topics in the stream may or may not continue to work.

In most cases, we recommend renaming streams rather than deleting them.

Delete a stream

  1. From your desktop, click on the gear () in the upper right corner.

  2. Click Manage streams.

  3. Click All streams in the upper left.

  4. Select a stream.

  5. On the right, click Delete.

  6. Click Yes, delete this stream.

Deleting a stream is irreversible.