Deactivate or reactivate a user

Deactivating a user

This feature is only available to organization owners and administrators.

When you deactivate a user:

You must go through the deactivation process below to fully remove a user's access to your Zulip organization. Changing a user's password or removing their single sign-on account will not log them out of their open Zulip sessions, or disable their API keys.

Deactivate a user

  1. Hover over a user's name in the right sidebar.

  2. Click on the ellipsis () to the right of their name to open their user card.

  3. Click on the ellipsis () in the user card.

  4. Click Manage this user.

  5. Click Deactivate user at the bottom of the Manage user menu.

  6. (optional) Select Notify this user by email? if desired, and enter a custom comment to include in the notification email.

  7. Approve by clicking Deactivate.

  1. Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click Users.

  4. In the Actions column, click the deactivate () icon for the user you want to deactivate.

  5. (optional) Select Notify this user by email? if desired, and enter a custom comment to include in the notification email.

  6. Approve by clicking Deactivate.

Organization administrators cannot deactivate organization owners.

Reactivating a user

This feature is only available to organization owners and administrators.

A reactivated user will have the same role, stream subscriptions, user group memberships, and other settings and permissions as they did prior to deactivation. They will also have the same API key and bot API keys, but their bots will be deactivated until the user manually reactivates them again.

Reactivate a user

  1. Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click Deactivated users.

  4. Click the Reactivate button to the right of the user account that you want to reactivate.

You may want to review and adjust the reactivated user's stream subscriptions.