Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click on the gear () in the upper right corner.

  2. Select Settings.

  3. On the left, click Your account.

  4. Under Deactivate account, click Deactivate account.

  5. Confirm by clicking Deactivate now.

What happens when you deactivate an account

  • Accounts are local to an organization; so deactivating a Zulip account in the foo.zulipchat.com organization will have no effect on any Zulip account you might have in the bar.zulipchat.com organization.

  • Any bots that you maintain will be disabled.

  • Deactivating your account won't delete messages you've sent or files you've shared. If permitted in your organization, delete content you'd like to remove before deactivating your account.

  • You cannot register a Zulip account using the email address of a deactivated account in that organization. If you change your mind about deactivating an account, an organization administrator can reactivate your account at any time.

If you are the only administrator in the organization, you cannot deactivate your account. You'll need to add another administrator first.

You may also be interested in deactivating an organization.