Message retention policy (beta)

By default, Zulip stores messages indefinitely, allowing full-text search of your complete history.

Zulip supports configuring both a global organization-level message retention policy, as well as retention policies for individual streams. These policies control how many days a message is stored before being automatically deleted (the default being forever). Zulip's system supports:

  • Setting a retention policy for individual streams, to just delete messages on those specific streams.
  • Setting an organization-level policy, and a "forever" policy for specific streams, to preserve messages indefinitely on those streams, while automatically deleting both PMs and messages sent to other streams.

In Zulip Cloud, message retention policies are available on the Zulip Cloud Standard and Zulip Cloud Plus plans, as well as for the hundreds of communities with sponsored Cloud Standard hosting. Contact support@zulipchat.com if you're on one of these plans and would like to enable it.

Important details

  • Retention policies are processed in a daily job; so changes in the policy won't have any effect until the next time the daily job runs.

  • Deleted messages are preserved temporarily in a special archive. So if you discover a misconfiguration accidentally deleted content you meant to preserve, contact Zulip support promptly for assistance with restoration. See the deletion documentation for more details on precisely how message deletion works in Zulip.