Typing notifications

Zulip displays typing notifications when viewing a private message or group private message conversation to which one of the other participants is currently composing a message.

Typing notifications are only sent while one is actively editing text in the compose box, and they disappear if typing is paused for about 15 seconds. Just having the compose box open will not send a typing notification.

Disable typing notifications

If you'd prefer that others not know whether you're typing, you can configure Zulip to not send typing notifications.

  1. Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.

  2. Select Personal settings.

  3. On the left, click Account & privacy.

  4. Under Privacy, toggle Let recipients see when I'm typing private messages.