Move content to another topic

By default, any user can change the topic of any message. This is useful for keeping messages organized even if some users are still learning how to use topics effectively.

Organization administrators can configure who can edit topics, or turn off message editing entirely. See the guide to message and topic editing for the details on when topic editing is allowed.

Move a message to another topic

  1. Hover over a message to reveal three icons on the right.

  2. Click the ellipsis ().

  3. Select the first option. It may be called View source / Edit topic, or simply Edit. If it's called View source, then you are not allowed to edit the topic of that message.

  4. Set the destination topic.

  5. A dropdown with three options will appear to the right: Change only this message topic, Change later messages to this topic, and Change previous and following messages to this topic. Pick the appropriate option.

  6. Click Save.